The NorthWestern Ohio Region of the Sports Car Club of America was formed in 1953. Any news articles or historic photos can be posted here. Please contact the website administrator for submission of items.

11. 07. 04
Hits: 12

Thanks to everyone for an excellent event. Definitely the hottest we have ever had at NWOR. All told we had (47) NWOR members out of (354) entrants (13%). Of those we had (15) trophies winners (32%). The trophy winners were as follows (hopefully I did not miss any!):

ST Jeff Mabrey-1st
STS Andy Pfotenhauer-6th
STSL Hilary Anderson-2nd
STR Andrew Palotta-4th
Johnny Rose-7th
BSP Alex Jones-1st
XP Kevin Lewis-1st
Bryan Rawlins-2nd
EP Chris Raglin-1st
Robert Chrismas-3rd
GP Scott Hearne-2nd
SSM Tim Carrite-4th
FM Paul Magee-1st
F125 Alan Sheidler-3rd
FJA Ben Raglin-2nd

Thanks to all who worked the pre-event positions and especially to those that worked as Chiefs for the entire weekend or in the case of Bill Hull and Lee Franz just worked the entire weekend without running.

Special thanks to the Port Authority and their personnel including maintenance, the police, Dawn Wenk the in-house counsel, and particularly Steve Arnold the Airport Director.

Begin thinking what we can do better for next year whether we have a Tour or Pro.


Special note: Thanks to Bill Hull for working with myself and the Port Authority on the Safety procedures and protocols. Unfortunately, we did have to enact the medical response on Friday, but the good news is that it worked well. The police and Air National Guard EMS responded quickly and professionally. Also, the person involved is doing well and drove himself home on Saturday morning.

10. 02. 15
Hits: 13

Wayne Zitkus, a long-time NWOR SCCA member, has been chosen to be inducted into the National SCCA Hall of Fame. The induction ceremonies will take place at the National Convention, January 28-30, 2010 in Las Vegas.

FileFile size
Download this file (012_Zitkus.pdf)Wayne Zitkus to Hall Of Fame38 kB
07. 12. 18
Hits: 11

In case you did not know, one of the Hall of Fame inductees for the upcoming SCCA national convention is a NWOR member. Roger Johnson is a longtime NWOR member (since 7-1-78) from Fostoria. He has quite a list of solo accomplishments (including 6 ProSolo championships) and general SCCA activities. The following excerpt is from an official SCCA announcement:
Roger E. Johnson: A multiple Solo Champion, Johnson was the first Solo competitor to bring major commercial attention to the sport through his sponsorship arrangement with BF Goodrich Tires. Johnson interacted with BF Goodrich dealers and his victories were featured in product advertising. This paved the way for major commercial support for the Solo National Championships, first from Yokohama, then from The Tire Rack®, as well as Valvoline’s support of ProSolo in the early 90s. Johnson is known just as much for his personality as his Solo skills. The annual Johnson Spirit of the Sport Award, named in his honor, was the first Solo award named after a participant and he served as a memorable emcee at the National Convention for many years.

Just to list a few of Roger's accomplishments:

SCCA Solo National Champion


Pro Solo Overall Champion

Pro Solo Class Champion


Solo Cup Award

Inaugural Johnson Spirit of the Sport Award